A caveman?
The blacked out area is not intended for use although the rules specifically don't say as much. We thought it was implied enough, but maybe further clarification is in order. Use the area at your own risk. How's that for ambiguous?
The Paths were not specifically mentioned as they reside in the bench as well. We used rides and scenery only as illustrations of the concept as most folks know those can be changed. Some may not be aware paths can be changed.
Maybe it would have been simpler to say no additions, but someone would ask if adding a hill or lake is an "addition".
Asking for clarification is usually a better option. Glad you did.